There are 37 states and the District of Columbia currently participating in the IRS e-file program. Some of these states have returns that can’t be filed electronically unless it is with the Federal return. Other states will be filed as independent states – meaning that they can be filed without the Federal return attached to it. The Michigan return needs to be filed with the Federal return.